Interviews and Exchanges

Wow. I don’t know what to title my email now a days, so that is the majority of what happened, so that is what I titled my email.

Hello family and friends!

This week was a great week! Yeah…a lot better than last week, so here we go.

Obviously we had interviews with President and Sister Porter this week. I really needed that! Both of them re-assured me that this is where God needs me to be. They also helped me see why God sent me here. I found it interesting that a couple of reasons were because of something that I need to learn/do. I don’t feel like I have spent too much time thinking about what I am supposed to learn. I feel like I have been thinking more about what others are supposed to learn from me or how I can help someone progress, etc. It was a humbling experience for sure. We always need to remember that we are never going to be done growing and progressing until Christ comes again. There is still a lot that I need to learn! President also pointed out to me that it is all about the doctrine of Christ. I need to start working on that again.

Sister Porter pointed out to me that I have a choice. I can choose how I want the rest of my mission to be. That really stood out to me. I don’t have to let it be such a rollercoaster of emotions. I can just choose to be happy and work hard and have fun! Then life will be great.

At the end of my interview with President he looked at me and said “I am going to be back up here next week. We will talk again for about an hour about home and getting adjusted and stuff…” My eyes got really big and he told me not to freak out. #exitinterviews #whattheheck! #thisjustgotreal

We had a lesson with our investigator (M) this week. We taught him the Word of Wisdom. He took it better than what I thought he would, but he still just couldn’t understand why we can’t have coffee. We brought it back to whether Joseph Smith was a prophet or not. He believes that Joseph Smith was a prophet. Later that week while we were on exchanges, Sister Blackburn and Watts went and visited him again. He wanted them to show him in the Bible where it says that we can’t have coffee. Sister Blackburn kind of pulled a smart one with him and said “it doesn’t say anything in the Bible about heroin, so does that mean I can just go out and do heroin since it ‘isn’t against Gods word’? No! We know that heroin is bad for us” Haha! I thought it was funny. They brought everything back to the restoration of the gospel and modern prophets and the priesthood. It apparently was a really good lesson. (M) said he would pray about the Word of Wisdom.

Sister Dunford and I were in Muncie for exchanges. We had a pretty good time together!

DSCN1035[1]

We got poured on twice. It rained really bad, so pretty much we were wet all day. I also got the experience of riding a bus (we tried to do some bus contacting as we were heading to appointments, but there actually weren’t very many people on the bus). It was a different experience that’s for sure! It made me think about when I was with Sister Yoakum. She really wanted to ride the bus but I was very much against it, so we never did. Haha! Sorry Sister Yoakum….

We had a block of faith activity this weekend here in Anderson. There were a lot of churches that set up booths and laid out some of their materials and stuff. It was also kind of like a fair because there were some activities and some food vendors, but it was for people to check out the churches in the area and find out more about them.

DSCN1037[1]

We had a booth set up with the elders and our ward mission leader. It was a lot of fun! We didn’t talk to as many people as I thought we would, but we were able to hand out some cards and tell people about the temple open house that starts next month!

We also did some family history with our recent convert (L) this week. It was cool because there was one point in time where she plugged in just a tiny bit of information, and a whole line of family came up. Someone has been doing here family’s family history! We were able to go back to at least the 900’s and we weren’t even done! It was cool and it was exciting to see the spirit of Elijah work through her. It got her really excited to do more family history.

So those are the big highlights for the week. I love you all! Have a great week. 🙂

Love,

Sister Palmer

Leave a Reply

