Mini Missions

Holy cow!!!!!!!

Hello my dearest family and friends! I am freaking out a little bit inside right now because of all the awesome things that are going on here in the mission and back at home. I am just loving life right now! I realize that my email last week was probably a little negative and depressing (obviously because I was a little down last week), but let me tell you….this week has been so much better! Let me tell you of some awesome things that have been happening.

Okay, so last week we had Stake Conference. Since it was Stake Conference, President and Sister Porter were there and so I got to say hi and talk to them for a second. Sister Porter gave me a hug and had mentioned to me about (M’s) baptism that had happened that day and how excited she was for me. I told her how sad I was because I couldn’t go and because I was missing Miamisburg so much. She told me to find 1 reason everyday why God decided to put me here in Anderson for the last 6 weeks of my mission. I haven’t been perfect, but there were a few awesome things that happened this week, and I am slowly finding reasons why I am here. I love it here!

Okay so earlier this week we had a lesson with one of our recent converts (K). She has been a little down on herself and had some depression and we had a super awesome lesson with her where I was able to talk about (G) a little bit (a recent convert from Miamisburg who had some depression problems). I told her that (G) was always the most depressed when she wasn’t reading, praying, AND coming to church. Notice all three of those things had to be done. I don’t know what all I said, but she thought it was interesting and wrote down a few things that I said so that she could remember them. This was on Tuesday and I finally felt like there was a reason why I am here. I have to be here for (K)… (and many others) because I might have just the right story or experience to share that might help them continue to increase their faith in Christ.

We had another walking day on Wednesday. Good grief! We just had one last Friday. Too many car accidents. Hopefully people start being more careful on the road. One of the members took us to Dairy Queen for dinner that night though. Yummy!

Another big highlight this week was on Friday. We had a zone meeting on Friday, and it was AWEOME! The spirit was so strong and there were a lot of things that stood out to me. I had been asked to share my testimony at the beginning of the meeting, but we had a testimony meeting at the end so that anyone else could share their testimonies. I had a really strong feeling that I needed to get up again even though I had already given my testimony already. I stood up though and as I stood up, all the thoughts that were going through my head left me. I had to sit there for a minute and give the spirit a chance to speak so that I would know what to say. I don’t even remember what all I said, but I do remember getting a feeling of comfort as I bore my testimony that God was with me, he knew what I was going through, and He has a purpose for me here in Anderson. It was really nice to get that feeling.

We also went on a little mini exchange that afternoon with the STLs. I was with Sister Dunford, and can I just say…..I was so happy to be with her! She is so awesome.

DSCN0993[1]

We were in the same district in Miamisburg when elder McDade was our District Leader. Now Elder McDade is my Zone Leader and Sister Dunford is one of my STLs. So, it was an awesome exchange with her. We found 3 new investigators in like 45 minutes. It was great! Sister Dunford and I talked a lot about what I had been struggling with and that I was trying so hard to find my purpose. I told her that I want to work so hard this last transfer and have so much fun, but I was struggling trying to accomplish that. We had a really good conversation and she helped me feel so much better. She also told me that one of the reasons she knew God loved her was because He had sent me here at this time to be with her again. It might sound kinda cheesy, but it was just what I needed to hear to find another reason why I am here at this time. I am here for the other missionaries!

This weekend we got our mini missionary. Her name is Sister Risch and she is really cool.

DSCN1000[1] DSCN0994[1]

We got her on Saturday morning, so she hasn’t been here extremely long, but we are having a lot of fun with her, and hopefully teaching her a lot!

So that is a quick update on the week. Like I said, it was so much better than last week. I am happy, I am having fun, and most importantly, I am working my hardest. 🙂 I will be home in exactly one month from today (don’t worry folks, I am not getting trunky this time). There is too much going on to get trunky and I am going to finish my mission strong! I love you all! Have a great week!

Love,

Sister Palmer

Leave a Reply

