Legacies.

Hello family and friends!

Holy cow, I am just so happy right now. This past week was awesome, and the emails that I got today were awesome. Things are going so great for me out here and for all y’all back at home. Nothing makes me happier. 🙂

So let me tell you a little bit about this week because it was awesome.

So, not much exciting happened on Tuesday. We had a good day with some good appointments. We had an appointment set up with an investigator and we had a member coming to it, but the investigator wasn’t there, so we still had the member come with us and try by a couple of other people. While we were walking, we met a lady named (R). We started asking her about her religion. She is a Wiccan [simply put, believes in witchcraft]. I have always wanted to meet one of those…I have heard both good and bad (just like you hear about every religion) and I wanted to hear things from a real wiccan. She has had a really rough past. She was very nice though and we set up a return appointment. I don’t know how long we will really be teaching her. She is pretty set in her ways, but you never know! You have to stay optimistic. So anyway, we met her and we were still able to get a member present lesson! God’s grace.

Wednesday we had district meeting. We were supposed to have a chapel tour with (B) and (D), but they didn’t show up. That was a bit of a bummer, but it happens. (On the positive side, we saw them on Saturday night and (B) is just flying by in his B.O.M reading. He is already in Enos! Man that made me so happy.) Wednesday night we taught activity days. That was so much fun! We did some role plays with the girls to help them practice sharing the gospel with other people. Oh my gosh they were HILARIOUS!! They were so funny, but they had such an enthusiasm for it that hopefully it went to good use and they will actually share the gospel with their friends. 🙂

We got in a few minutes early Wednesday night and we didn’t really know what to do or who to go see that lives close by our apartment, so we just started walking. We met a guy named (B) who was outside smoking. We talked to him for a few minutes and were able to pick him up as a new investigator. Once again, God’s grace.

Thursday was so awesome! We had what is called a Legacy meeting. It was only for the missionaries who have 6 months or less. I think it was the first time that the mission has done it. I went on a temporary exchange with Sister Summers so that we could go to the meeting in the morning. We rode down with a few other sisters, so we had a full car. The car ride there and back was so much fun!

At the meeting we talked about how after the first 6 months that the Ohio Cincinnati Mission was organized, we had about 130 missionaries who had been out 6 months or less. We were one of the youngest missions. Now we have about 130 missionaries who only have 6 months left, so we are now one of the oldest missions. We talked about our strengths and weaknesses about being one of the oldest missions. We then talked about the Legacy we want to leave behind when we go home, so that these younger missionaries can see our examples and carry on the Legacy and continue to be a really strong, successful mission. It was awesome and I received a lot of revelation! Plus I got to see Sister Davis and a few other mission friends.

We tried really hard this week to find our purpose in the areas that we were working in and we tried really hard to talk to everyone so that we could find some new investigators. We worked really hard, but we didn’t find as many new investigators as we would have liked. But you know what? I don’t feel discouraged at all. Our numbers were still so good for this week! It was very evident that because we were doing the little things and trying our hardest to fulfill our purpose, God stepped in and made up for it. GOD’S GRACE!! This week was full of a lot of grace, and I feel like I fulfilled my purpose for last week. Now I have to go out again with that same attitude, so that we can accomplish more miracles. 🙂 It is going to be a little harder this week, because we have a fresh blanket of snow on the ground now and it is super cold, but with God, all things are possible!

I am so grateful to be out serving right now. I have just a little less than 6 months, and even though I get a little discouraged at times, or I want to come home so that I can see my family and hang out with my friends (especially those from the mission) I am determined to finish strong. I DO want to leave a legacy behind in this mission, and am going to work hard to do it. 🙂

I love you all so much! Thank you again for all that you do for me. I thank you for your prayers on my behalf. You have no idea how much strength they give me to keep going. I couldn’t do it without all of you. Have a great week!

Love,

Sister Palmer

PS: Here is a picture of Sister Rose and I holding a ferret. Such a cute little guy! Haha. 🙂

Leave a Reply

