Christmas Time!!!!!

Holy cow. Does the subject of this letter let you know how excited I am?? This week is Christmas, but even better, I get to talk to my family!!! I can hardly wait.

Hello my wonderful family and friends.

I sure hope things are going great for you at home. From the emails that I got, it seems like they are. I hope that you are all ready for Christmas this week! 🙂

So this week was actually pretty good. It had some downers, but for the most part I enjoyed it. Sister Rose and I are finally starting to work well together. That’s a plus!

Right now we don’t have any super solid investigators, so the work is kinda slow. I mentioned last week I think about our investigator (L). We were planning on her getting baptized this weekend, but we have pushed it back. We want to make sure that she is ready, and we are also teaching her son (A), and they want to get baptized together. It will be a lot better that way! 🙂

So, this week we had a Christmas conference. It was so fun! We had a wonderful Christmas program. I got to see all of my missionary friends (that haven’t gone home yet) and we got to watch “Meet the Mormons”. That was such a good video! I loved it. I am just like my mother and cried when it got to the missionary mom. It didn’t help that the day we watched it was my 1 year mark from the day that I entered the MTC.

Ready to head out the door of my home and enter the MTC.

Ready to head out the door of my home and enter the MTC.

Why don’t you all join me as we look back in time a little…I remember that day as if it happened last week. I got up in the morning and started packing. Yep, I am a procrastinator, and I had not done any packing at this point. Thankfully for my wonderful dad who packed it all up for me and made everything nice and neat and organized.

Sitting with my sister Morgan at Denny's on the way to the MTC.

Sitting with my sister Morgan at Denny’s on the way to the MTC.

I remember my family going out to lunch at Denny’s. (They give missionaries going into the MTC a free meal, so we figured “Why not?”) I remember after lunch we drove off to the MTC. As soon as we came around the corner and we could see the MTC my dad asked me “Are you nervous Kayla?” I of course replied that no I was not nervous, I was excited, although my insides would have told otherwise. I really actually was scared out of my mind!!

One last picture before Kayla enters and we leave.

One last picture before Kayla enters and we leave.

I said goodbye to my family and I remember thinking that 18 months would be so long and hard, and I wasn’t sure I wanted to do that anymore.

Well, here I am 1 year later. I look back on everything that has happened this past year. The things I have been able to do, the people that I have been able to meet, the friends I have made, how my testimony has grown. This has been one of the greatest things I have ever done! I only have 6 months left. I am excited for when I finally get to be back at home with my family and friends, but for right now, I think I will continue to work hard and enjoy my time here. 🙂

I read a quote today by Elder Nelson. He said this “God is the same yesterday, today, and forever, but we are not. Each day, ours is the challenge to access the power of the Atonement so that we can truly change, become more Christ-like, and qualify for the gift of exaltation with God, Jesus Christ, and our families.”

I thought it was a good quote. Pretty much sums up my mission. I have had to make a lot of changes and even more important, accept a lot of changes. I have had to apply the atonement to help me change and grow and progress to become more like Christ. How grateful I am for that opportunity that I have had, that I continue to have, and that we all have as Gods children. I am thankful for my savior and all that he is done for me and that we get to celebrate his birth this week.

I love you all. MERRY CHRISTMAS!! Have a fantastic week. 🙂

Love,

Sister Palmer

Leave a Reply

