Carols and Christmas Time!

PREFACE: I don’t know why Kayla titled her email the way she did this week because she doesn’t mention any carols and barely talks about it being Christmas. She probably had “The Forgotten Carols” playing in her mind as she wrote…it is her favorite Christmas album. If I were to write the title of this entry (which I could since I control the account) it would be “Learning and Growing Through Change”. But this is Kayla’s mission, not mine, so on to her letter.

Dear family and friends,

Hello, hello! Holy cow it is so great to be able to email today. Not gonna lie, the first p-day of a transfer is the best, because you get to email and hear from family and friends to give you a boost to keep going.

Okay, I make it sound like this week was terrible. It wasn’t, but it was a bit of a struggle. It was so hard having Sister Webb gone! I felt like part of me was missing almost all week. Satan was also doing what he does best to try and bring me down. He knows my weakness is my thoughts, and I’m not gonna lie, I had some negative thoughts this week about myself and what I was doing as a missionary.

But…. Let’s talk about some good stuff and some of the things that I have learned this week. Let’s first start with my companion. My new companion is Sister Rose. She is from Tooele, UT. She is the middle child, with an older sister and a younger brother. We are the same age (at least as far as school goes. She graduated in 2013 as well). She has done 1 year of college at UVU. She wants to be a pilot. Sister Rose has only been out for 3 transfers, or 4 1/2 months. She is just a baby as far as mission age goes! She is the youngest companion out on a mission that I have had so far. She reminds me a lot of myself when I was at the beginning of my mission, or even where I was at the time that she is at now.

It has been kinda fun this week just to think back on my struggles and weaknesses at that point in my mission, and the similar struggles she is having. She is very quiet. Just like I was. It has been hard and required a lot of patience, because I don’t want to overpower lessons. If there is one thing that I have learned on my mission, it is that God needs us where he needs us, and puts us with the people he puts us with for a reason. This week I have tried to have the mindset of “Why did God put us together? What am I supposed to learn? How can I be an example and what am I supposed to teach her?” It has been a big help to have that mindset, because I am trying to work with her a lot. Things are finally starting to get better. She is a great missionary, and I hope to be able to teach her all that I have learned on my mission so far.

So other great news, Shelby got confirmed yesterday!! Wahoo! The newest member of the church. He is so awesome. He said that his confirmation was such a powerful experience, which it was. The spirit was strong. I have loved seeing him learn and grow and seeing the light in his eyes as he has progressed in the gospel and become more familiar with the spirit. He is awesome!

This week ended up being a great week! We found 3 new investigators, and we are working with another lady (L) to prepare her for baptism on the 27th. We will see what happens.

I am so thankful that I get to be a missionary at this time. I am thankful for the gospel. It is such a blessing in our lives! I love you all! Have a great week.

Love,
Sister Palmer

PS: Christmas is in a week and a half…for all you that still have Christmas shopping to do. Haha. I can’t wait to talk to my family though!! That will be so exciting.

PSS: Pictures this week are… a good looking group of missionaries! 😉 Me and Sisters Webb and Ison on the day of transfers. Two of my best friends from the mission are now home. That is just too weird.

DSCN0738[1]

The second picture… We filled up with gas the other day. I have no idea what gas prices are in Utah, but $2.29 a gallon was so exciting for me! That is the lowest it has been on my mission.

DSCN0742[1]

Leave a Reply

