August Transfers…

Hello Friends and Family!!

Are you ready to hear the news about transfers?? Well….I’M BEING TRANSFERRED!!! Okay I don’t write that in all caps because I am super excited…actually I am super excited. I am excited to meet new missionaries and to meet new people. I honestly feel like I have learned all I can out here [in the Aboite area], so I am excited to see where the Lord sends me. I am sad at the same time though. Being here for 7 1/2 months has given me a lot of time to fall in love with the area, the people I teach, and the members that I serve around. I really am going to miss this area.

Last district meeting before transfer from Aboite area.

Last district meeting before transfer from Aboite area.

Okay, quick update for the week because I have a lot of things to do and I am feeling a little rushed right now…

We had exchanges this week! That was super fun. Sister Parker and I were together in Huntington. We had so much fun, laughed a lot, took some videos, and of course (and the most important) we saw a lot of cool people and had some amazing lessons. All of the good stuff about being a missionary. 🙂

Sister Yoakum and I have met a lot of people recently that believe in aliens…I’m not sure how I feel about that. Here is there excuse…In the Bible times, the highest mode of transportation was a chariot. There are a few instances in the Bible where people go up to heaven in “Chariots of fire”. They say that if it really was a U.F.O, no one would know what to call it, so they just call it a chariot. Makes sense I guess, but obviously that is not what I believe. I just think it is kind of funny. Gives you something to think about. How would you respond if someone told you they believe in aliens?

I got a haircut this week! It is quite short actually. I love it though! Just wait for the pictures. (Don’t worry, it’s not like I chopped it off.)

We took a member out with us this week to go to a lesson. We decided to walk to the lesson, but as we started to walk, it started to pour rain! We were already far enough away from the car to grab umbrella’s, so we just kept walking.

DSC01380

By the time we got to this guy’s house, we were SOAKED! hahaha. And then to add to that, he told us that he wasn’t interested. So back out into the rain we went. We finally found a dry spot of ground underneath a tree, so we stopped there and waited out the rain. When we went to our next appointment, the lady answered the door and was like “What happened to you guys??” haha it was fun and kind of funny.

We have an awesome investigator right now (V) who I actually taught a few times when I first got here, but we had to drop her because we could not set up return appointments with her and she wouldn’t answer our calls. It went on like that for a while. Well, sister Yoakum and I are now teaching her (well now it will be sister Yoakum and someone else…) but she is super awesome! She is so much more prepared this time that she was just six months ago. She is already aiming for a baptism date on August 30th. She has been reading the Book of Mormon, and it is awesome!

Well, there are a few quick updates. I love you all! Have a great week! I will get you my new address as soon as I can. 🙂

Love,

Sister Palmer

Leave a Reply

