Pioneer Day??

Okay, I didn’t know what to title this, but pioneer day was this past week, so there you go.

This week once again was a really good week. We still continue to see a lot of grace, but the opposition is really starting to come in. That’s a good thing though right?? That means that we are doing something good. It’s just hard to see our investigators struggle and tell us that they don’t want to meet with us anymore. Don’t worry, I’m still keeping my head up. I can’t even begin to tell you how much I love missionary work. It brings so much happiness and unfortunately it can bring so much sadness. As a missionary, you fall in love with all the people that you are teaching, so it breaks your heart when you see them struggle. My testimony and my faith have increased so much though! I know that God is looking out for us as missionaries. This is his work and he isn’t going to let Satan destroy it. We just have to put our trust in him!

Anyway, there is my little rant or whatever. That is just how I have felt the past few days. Time out here is going by so fast! When I really think about it, I am so happy. I am so happy because I am loving what I am doing, and happy because I will be home before I know it. (I’m not counting though don’t worry. Staying focused on what’s going on out here.)

So this week we were able to reach most of our goals, which was awesome. We set our goals every week by the spirit, so I know that if we work hard, Heavenly Father will help us accomplish them, but sometimes it is hard. This week we had a lot of things happen with some investigators and some appointments fell through. We didn’t know how we were going to reach these goals. We continued to work hard though and we were able to get some members out with us! Heavenly Father provided a way and it was awesome!

On Saturday, we had a pioneer day activity for the ward and all of us missionaries dressed up as pioneers. When I get a hold of the picture that one of the members took of us, I will email it home, but it was a fun activity! There were games and food and visiting. It was fun.

We also did a lot of service projects this week, which is also fun! We helped a member and her kids paint their porch. (I love painting).

DSC01363

We also helped a non-member (she isn’t an investigator though) get ready to take the “popcorn” off the ceiling. We moved furniture and cleared out the room, and then we started scraping at the ceiling. For those who don’t know what the popcorn is, it is that nasty texture stuff that is on older ceilings. When you take it off, it is dusty and gross. We were wearing bandanas and masks over our mouths so that we wouldn’t breathe it in.

Yesterday we also were out walking with some members and it started pouring rain!! We all took off running back to the apartment and if you can imagine, I’m sure it was a funny sight…missionaries running in skirts, a pregnant lady running, and the dad carrying his son and running. Unfortunately we got pretty soaked, but we had a good laugh about it afterwards.

Well, there is an update of my week. Today I wanted to talk more about the grace that we are seeing and the fun that we are having. Things are going good. 🙂 Also, next week is transfers…maybe this time I will be gone. We shall see though. I have been here for 7 1/2 months. It might be time for a change.
I love you all so much! Have a great week. 🙂

Love,

Sister Palmer

DSC01364

This picture is of us at the YMCA with Francisco, who is the guy we volunteer for when we volunteer there.

 

Leave a Reply

