June Transfers…

Hello Family and Friends!

Sorry this email is getting to you so late. We were late getting to the email this morning because we were waiting for our transfer calls to come in. Then when we got to the library, there weren’t enough computers for both Sister Yoakum and I to use, so I emailed for a couple of minutes, but then we decided to go and do some shopping and wash the car and then come back to email a little bit later.

So, you probably want to know the outcome of transfer calls? I know at least my family does. (Drum roll please….) IM STAYING!! Yep, another 6 weeks here in the beautiful area of Aboite (Fort Wayne). I am really happy actually that I am staying. It’s kind of a bitter sweet moment. I love the people out here, so I am happy that I am staying. The problem is that now I have 6 more weeks to get even more attached and have it be that much harder when I leave. Oh well, it’s worth it! The ward and the people out here are awesome!

Okay so this week was super awesome! Here are the highlights from the week….

We had exchanges this week. That was so super fun! I went with Sister Ison, who is one of my favorite sister missionaries out here! We have a lot of fun together. She reminds me a lot of Sister Standage and I think that is one reason why we get along so well. πŸ™‚ We stayed in Huntington for the day while Sisters Yoakum and Parker were down here. Sister Ison and I saw a few different people and had some pretty good lessons, but the best part was that we were able to laugh and have a lot of fun with each other! We both have been struggling the last few weeks with a lot of the same things, so we were able to just talk to each other about the things that are going on and try to help each other resolve those problems. Needless to say, it was a very much needed exchange. πŸ™‚

There were a lot of miracles that happened this week. We have been going through our area book the past couple of weeks and putting some potential investigators as well as former investigators in our schedule to see. On Monday we went and saw a potential investigator (E). He opened the door and kind of laughed a little bit, but he came outside and we ended up talking to him for like an hour and a half. He is super funny, but he does kind of have a bit of a potty mouth. He has what we would like to call colorful language….and he smokes and drinks throughout our conversations (it’s not a big deal. I’m used to those kinds of things) but nonetheless he is curious about the things that we believe, especially the Book of Mormon. Hopefully in the next couple of weeks we can help increase his faith enough so that he will come to church.

We also have a progressing investigator right now. (R) was a former investigator in our area book. We have now seen her a couple of times and she is doing really good! She went to a Southern Baptist church out in Atlanta a few years ago, but then she moved here and she hasn’t been able to find a church that she likes as much as the last one. Right now she is trying to do what God wants her to do, so she is keeping an open mind to all things, so that she can learn more about what God wants her to do.

The greatest thing that happened this week was that a less-active couple that we have been seeing every week in the 6 months that I have been here went to church yesterday! They haven’t been to church in a long time, but they love the missionaries and never turn them away. We have been working with them for a while now and they finally went back to church. They are one of my favorite less-actives out here. They are kind of like a grandma and grandpa to me in a way. They are just super funny and fun to be around. They also referred us to a guy (Ri) that has been doing yard work for them. He expressed to them that he wanted to learn more about their religion, so on Saturday we had our first lesson with him at Bro. and Sis. (A)’s house. It went so well!

Anyways….there are a lot of good things happening out here and I am excited that I get to be here for another 6 weeks to see more miracles. I am thankful that I get to be here, even though it isn’t always easy. There are a lot more rewarding things than negative things. πŸ™‚

I love you all! Have a great week! πŸ™‚

Love,

Sister Palmer

District Meeting June 17 2014

PS: Here is a picture from our last district meeting all together. Unfortunately Sister Ison is getting transferred. 😦 The picture didn’t turn out the greatest, but I thought you’d like to see it. And yes…all of us sisters are matching. We planned it that way. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

