Holy Guacamole!

Hello Family and Friends! I gave this email the title that I did, because I didn’t know what else to say about this week. This week was seriously AMAZING! We saw miracles like crazy!

Monday we went to the zoo with one of the members in the ward, which was so much fun!

P1040477P1040481

P1040485

It was nice to get out and do something other than sitting in the apartment and writing letters and such.

So there is like the fun part about the week. We also had a zone meeting this week which went really well. The spirit was really strong (as it always is) and I was able to receive some good revelation. We also set some goals as a zone on things that we can work on and we made a “vision” for our zone and what we all want to do to become better missionaries. It was awesome. 🙂

Okay, so let me tell you about the miracles. On Sunday, the missionaries fasted that we would be able to find families to teach and to baptize this month. The members joined with us in this fast, so there was a lot of faith shown by everyone, and because of that there was tons of God’s grace in our work!

This week we found a total of 7 NEW INVESTIGATORS! We found all of them on Monday and Tuesday. We found them a number of different ways, but it was amazing that we were able to find that many. I have never found that many in a week since I have been out on my mission. I know that the past couple of weeks have been really hard for us especially, but we are finally able to see the blessings of our hard work.

Two of the investigators that we found this week were a little boy and girl, about 10 and 12 years old. Their dad is a less active member of the church who has started to come back, and their mom is not a member. They really want to get baptized, but it has gotten pushed off because of their parents. Well, now their parents are more on board with it, so we are starting to teach them.

Two other investigators are a couple that was a referral from an awesome family in the ward. When we contacted the wife, she was super friendly and we taught her the restoration. This last week, the members invited us and their friends over for dinner, so we got to teach the husband about the restoration. It was awesome and we actually met with them the next night and taught them our new Book of Mormon lesson. That didn’t go quite as planned, but they both said that they would read and pray about the Book of Mormon, so we will see what happens. We are praying that they really feel the spirit and get a confirmation that the things we are teaching are true.

So, that was pretty much the week, and an overview of a couple of our investigators. It was pretty amazing. There is a scripture that was brought to my attention on Saturday, that pretty much sums up the week, (thanks for the scripture Jess! :)) Its Alma 26:12 “Yea, I know that I am nothing; as to my strength I am weak; therefore I will not boast of myself, but I will boast of my God, for in his strength I can do all things; yea, behold, many mighty miracles we have wrought in this land, for  which we will praise his name forever.”

I know that everything that happened this week was because God was helping us out. Yeah, Sister Yoakum and I had to work hard, but we have been working hard the past couple of weeks and haven’t had much success. We have continued to be faithful though and the miracles have come. I know that with God, all things are possible. I know that even more this week than I have in previous weeks I have been here.

Well, I hope you all have a good week! I am loving the updates from everyone. Sounds like things are going good at home, and I pray that they continue. I love you all!

Love,

Sister Palmer

PS: this week we have a “mini missionary” with us. She is living with us for the next week and is going to live like a missionary, to see what missionary life is like. It’s kind of cool! 🙂

Leave a Reply

