3rd Week

Okay…I didn’t know what to title this email, but we are like halfway through the transfer (what the?) so yeah…

Hello Family and Friends! How are all y’all? Good? Good.

This week was kind of a crazy week. Last week I told you about our P-day getting changed to Tuesday because of Memorial Day. So, first off, our schedule is out of whack. Then on Wednesday we had Zone Conference, which started at 9:00 in the morning and didn’t get over until 5:00, so we only had a couple of hours to go out and work that day. Then Saturday we had exchanges with the Sister Training Leaders, so we weren’t even in our area that day. I just felt like we didn’t have a whole lot of time to work in our area (which is kind of true). Let me tell you a little bit about the week though.

Zone Conference was awesome! It always is.

May 2014 Zone Conference 5

President Porter is just amazing and we had some great training from him and the assistants. We also got to hear from Sister Porter and President Sorenson (the Stake President) and they both were really good as well. I don’t have my notes with me to tell some of the amazing things, but just know that it was good. 🙂 I hope you enjoyed the pictures that Sister Porter posted as well.

May 2014 Zone Conference 3

Sister Seamons and I made sure that we had our mustaches with us. (I wanted to sneak them on during the training so that Sister Porter could get a random picture of us, but I decided not to. I didn’t want to get caught)

Thursday was a pretty good day as well. We saw a lot of people and doubled our lessons that we had had for the week which was nice. We got to see one of our investigators (R) who showed up at church a couple of weeks ago with her husband. Her husband felt really uncomfortable at church, but she loved it! We are going to try and do a FHE with them to help the husband feel a little more comfortable, and hopefully he will give church another try.

Friday we found a new investigator! We haven’t found one for a couple of weeks, so we were excited. He likes to read and has had missionaries come up and talk to him before (but he never took lessons), so he knows a lot more about our church than someone we usually come in contact with. We set up a return appointment with him for Sunday. We went over yesterday and got to meet his wife. She was super awesome and friendly. We taught them the Restoration and it went pretty good. I think we could have done a better job at bringing in the spirit stronger, but oh well. They aren’t ready to have us come back quite yet. They wanted us to give them a couple of weeks (bummer…) but I left a commitment for them to read some stuff off of lds.org so hopefully they do.

Saturday we had exchanges, which is always so much fun! I went with Sister Ison and we had a good time. 🙂 We got to talk about some things that I have been struggling with this transfer. It was nice to just kind of talk them out with her (I have talked some things out with Sister Yoakum as well, so don’t think I am not communicating with my companion and keeping things to myself). Anyways, so that’s that.

Sunday we went on splits. Sister Yoakum went to Huntington ward and I went to Columbia City. We are trying to involve ourselves more with the Huntington ward, since we do cover part of it. It was good, but it was also really weird being separated and having one of the sisters in the ward as a companion. We probably will only be doing something like this once a month, so it won’t be often.

There you have it. That’s my update! We are going to the zoo today with a member in the ward, so that should be fun! I love you all. Have a great week! 🙂

Love,

Sister Palmer

Leave a Reply

