Two Angels On a Mission

Family and Friends,

Valentine’s Day has come and gone….What?? I pretty much forgot that it was Valentine’s Day, but it was a good day none the less. I hope it was a great day for all of you as well. 🙂

Okay so here is some more news. Tomorrow is transfers. SERIOUSLY? I have been here for six weeks already. Can you believe that? I can’t. I am happy to say that Sister Standage and I aren’t going anywhere though. HALLELUJAH! I was so scared that I was going to get a different companion to finish training me, but luckily I have Sister Standage for another six weeks. 🙂 I realize that these transfers are going to be super hard for me. I get very attached to people. Oh well. Nothing I can do about it. I am going to meet lots of people on my mission and it is going to be awesome!

Let me tell you a little bit about this week, because it was pretty awesome!

Okay, on Tuesday we had interviews with President and Sister Porter. No big deal, I love them both. President Porter said some really good things about me. Pretty much he told me that he thinks Sister Standage and I are doing great and that he has a lot of confidence in me and trusts me as a missionary. We had to prepare a 15 min. lesson for one of our investigators and we were going to teach it to one of the assistants. They wanted to check and make sure we were teaching things right. I was so scared, but we ended up doing really good! The spirit was strong and they told us that it was the best “role play” lesson they had seen all day. Wahoo!

This week we had exchanges again. That was fun because this time I spent the whole day in Huntington with Sister Ison. Sister Farr and Sister Standage spent the day down here in our area. Sister Ison and I didn’t teach a lot of people, but when we did, I was able to work on my confidence and work on following the promptings of the Spirit (two things that I am continuously working on).

Yesterday, Sister Standage and I went to go visit a less active lady in the ward. She wasn’t home, so we decided to walk around her neighborhood and do some personal contacting. No one was outside, so we ended up walking back to the car. On our way back to the car though, we saw a lady out walking her dog, so we stopped and talked to her. We started out with just a friendly conversation, but during the conversation, she asked us if what we were doing was called a mission.  We told her that “yes, that is what it is called” and then asked her how she knew. Turns out that her best friend growing up was LDS and she went to church with her frequently (although she was never baptized). She loved the church building and she loved the members. Her friend ended up moving away when they were only in like 8th grade and she never went to the Mormon Church again. During college, she joined the Catholic Church and has been going there ever since. She said that we could come back though and visit her, so we are planning on teaching her more about the gospel and hopefully having that desire to come to church. 🙂

So that was a great contact! We then headed back to the car, but right before we were about to get in, we saw a very old lady outside trying to hack at the ice on her driveway. Sister Standage and I both looked at each other and knew that we needed to go over and help her. So, that’s exactly what we did. She told us during our conversation that she had looked up and saw “two angels” walking towards her. Haha that was so sweet of her! She was such a cute old lady. She told us about her husband who has passed away, and her daughter that died of Leukemia. We taught her a little bit about the Plan of Salvation and eternal families, that we will be able to see our family again, and that we can live with them forever. It was a very spiritual lesson with her and we set up a time to come see her again and teach her. Yay! Another investigator!

That’s about it for this week! Hope you enjoyed. 🙂 By the way, I heard Shirley Temple died. (Poor animal crackers…hahaha okay just kidding.) I never even watched Shirley Temple, so it doesn’t matter. Also, the Olympics are going on right now?…I hope you all are enjoying that, since I can’t watch it. Anyways, I love you all! Have a great week!

Love,

Sister Palmer

PS: Here is a drawing that Sister Standage and I did of our district. I hope you enjoy! 🙂

District Family: Feb. 12, 2014