Trust in God and Exercise Faith in Him

*PREFACE: I asked Kayla to share more of the spiritual experiences and teaching situations that she encounters on her mission and less of the goofy things that she and her companion do. It’s great to see that she is getting along so well with her companion, but I feel that we can all benefit from knowing about her missionary efforts. This letter was definitely in reply to my request. Enjoy this weeks experiences.

Family and Friends,

This week has been an amazing one in the fact that we had some great teaching experiences and we had a great time laughing. Let me tell you what has happened.

First off, we had a special training on Tuesday with President and Sister Porter and the assistants. It was a great training and we learned a lot. BUT….so at the beginning of the meeting, we always start with a song, prayer, and then they call on a couple of missionaries to bear their testimony on the Savior. No big deal right? No it isnt. After the testimonies this last time, they turned the time over to us missionaries to share our talks on “Faith like the Ancients”. None of us knew that we were supposed to prepare these talks (they normally tell us in advance and then randomly call on us at the meeting). I look over at Sister Standage with pure terror, but she had a confused look on her face as well. “There are so many missionaries here, what is the possibility that they will call on me?” It was a very slim chance that I would get called on, but guess what?…I did!! AAAHHH!! I have never been so scared in my entire life! Luckily for me, the other missionaries didn’t receive word about this, so I was able to share a talk that I had previously prepared for a different zone conference.

After the training was over, Sister Porter came up to me and gave me a hug and said that I did a good job on my talk. I said thank you, but told her that I was so nervous. She laughed and said, “Yeah, I could see the look of terror on your face when you got called on.” hahaha oh man….

DSCN0260[1]

A view of the snow covered field behind Kayla’s apartment.

This week it snowed a lot! Sorry to all of you out in Utah who aren’t getting snow and would like some…I wish it would come your way, because I am tired of it. It does have its positives though.

Sister Standage and I keep shovels in the back of our car so that we can jump out and help people shovel their driveways and such. This week we were headed home for lunch one day and saw a lady outside trying to shovel the snow off of her driveway. There was a good six inches at least, so we pulled over and got out to help her. We spent

I don't know if I could trust the one with the scarf. Good thing the shoveling service showed they were good people.

I don’t know if I could trust the one with the scarf. Good thing the shoveling service showed they were good people.

an hour or two shoveling her driveway and talking to her. Afterwards, she was very appreciative and asked if there was anything she could do for us. We said, “Actually, we have a message about Jesus Christ and our church. Could we share it with you?” She said “Sure!” and let us into her house. We taught her the restoration and it was really good. She is willing to hear more, so we are going to continue to her. Yay! We love getting new investigators.

This week we had a lesson with Melissa, our agnostic investigator who we just recently started teaching. We taught her the Plan of Salvation. She asked us a lot of questions and we answered them. At the end of the lesson, she told us that it all made sense to her. Sister Standage and I looked at each other and smiled. We explained to her that she had been feeling the spirit, because the spirit testifies of truth and helps us understand things. At the beginning of the lesson, we had invited her to pray, but she didn’t feel quite comfortable praying. She told us at the end of the lesson though that she had been thinking about praying during the whole lesson and she told us that even though she didn’t feel comfortable at that moment, she would definitely be willing to pray in the coming future. Yay… that is promising!! 

Even though I have highlighted some of the great things that happened this week, always remember that missionary work isn’t always as easy as I might make it sound. We definitely see Satan at work trying to prevent us from helping people progress or having the people progress themselves. I know that as we put our trust in God and exercise faith in him, he will lead and guide us. 

I want to end with a scripture. It is 1 Nephi 9:6 “But the Lord knoweth all things from the beginning; wherefore, he prepareth a way to accomplish all his works among the children of men; for behold, he hath all power unto the fulfilling of all his words. And thus it is, Amen.”

Heavenly Father has a plan for all of us. He has all power because he is a God. Remember though that we are all children of a God and so we have power as well. Work hard and miracles will happen. I have a testimony of that!

I love you all! Have a great week and be safe! 🙂

-Sister Palmer

P.S. Sorry I haven’t included pictures in my emails. (All pictures that have been placed in the blog postings are some that she has uploaded to an internet storage site, which I have then included with the posted letters.)DSCN0253[1]This picture was taken at our special training on Tuesday. On the very right is Sister Farr. She is one of the Sister Training Leaders in our area. Next to her is Sister Colton, who was trained by Sister Farr. Then you have Sister Standage, who was trained by Sister Colton and finally you have me, who is currently being trained by Sister Standage. Yay! Its a “four-generations” picture. Yep…that’s right.

Leave a Reply

