Exchanges and New Experiences

**PREFACE: This posting is a combination of a letter we received in the mail on Saturday, February 1st and an email we received on Monday, February 3rd. Some of the letter has not been included because she was answering some specific questions that family members asked and it would be boring for the rest of you. However, combining these two into one post may turn out interesting because the letter was written shortly after the email that made up the previous post and a whole week before the email that finishes out this post. Happy reading…

Dear Family,

Holy cow! Can I just say…1 hour to write emails is not enough time! I wish I could write emails throughout the whole day, but unfortunately, there are other things that need to be done on p-day. I hope you enjoyed my email this week though. I want to try and make my emails more funny, instead of just spiritual. The spiritual stuff is good, but I think the adventures are even better! J

Sorry I was not able to send/upload pics today. Most of my time today was spent writing that long email home. I didn’t really have much of a chance to ready anybody’s emails. I read a few, but didn’t have time to respond. Anyways…so short on time for emails.

(Note from the father: I get long-winded in my emails so I take full responsibility if she didn’t get to read yours. I am going to start writing shorter emails and longer letters so that she is able to read emails from other people. With that said, Kayla loves hand-written letters too…something that she can read any day since it isn’t tied to a computer.)

Well, I think I told you most of the funny things in my email. Gary (the GPS) hasn’t tried to kill us this week. That’s been nice! Hahaha J

This week we went and visited a really old, less-active lady in the ward. She is in a nursing home and has “all timers” (hahaha…call me ridiculous, but I don’t know how to really spell it…) Alzeimers? No, I don’t think that’s it either. Whatever…You get the point. She said the same things over and over again the whole time we were there. I just made me laugh and think of Great-Grandma Cole.

We volunteer at the YMCA every Thursday. Ummm…nothing to report on that. We just go for a couple of hours and clean or help out with whatever they need. It’s nice though because we get to wear p-day clothes. The only place that we get to go in public wearing normal clothes! And, because it isn’t a church, they don’t play church music… I love church music, but it is a blessing to hear little bits of some of my favorite music. Don’t worry, it doesn’t distract us enough that we can’t work afterwards. (As parents we tried to wean her from “worldly” music before she left but she has too much of her father in her…)

We didn’t get to see any of our investigators this week except for Taylor. It’s okay…well it’s not okay that we didn’t see out other investigators, but I love Taylor! I can’t wait until she is baptized!

Anyways, I think that is about it for this week. Right now I am listening to the music you sent me. Thanks again for the package! I love it! J

Love,
Sister Kayla Palmer

PS: ALTZHEIMERS! Figured it out…okay now…

PSS: Hahaha, I was going to tell you about our car wash experience today. We went to go wash our car, to be obedient missionaries. (She said in a previous letter/email that they are supposed to clean it once a week.) It was so cold though (high temp of 3 degrees that day) that the water froze to the car. Needless to say, it was a pointless car wash…hahaha but it was funny!

And from her email today…

Hello my wonderful people! hahaha just kidding.

This week has been a pretty great week! Let me just update you on what has happened…

First off, the weather has gotten so much nicer! It has been super nice because it hasn’t been as cold, but the other day, we had rain which made everything all wet and slushy. You should have seen some of the puddles…they were HUGE!! Like for reals. If I had my car out here, I would have driven through those puddles as fast as I could to see how big of a wave I could make, but since the car that we drive is not ours, we didn’t go zooming through the puddles.

Now there is ice all over the roads because the temperatures have dropped enough to freeze the water. I am praying so hard every day that I don’t slip and fall on the ice. We will see though…so far I have only slipped once, and it wasn’t a big deal.

Okay so this week we had exchanges. Sister Standage and I drove up to Huntington to Sister Training Leaders’ apartment. (Sister Training Leaders are like zone leaders for the sister missionaries…in case you didn’t know.) We stayed the night at their apartment. Their apartment was SO COLD!! It’s okay though because I still got some sleep. (Although I was wearing a few extra layers to bed….) The next day we helped a couple of sisters move into their apartment, then we had lunch, and then we headed out.

DSCN0230[1]

I went with Sister Ison. She is pretty awesome! We had a great time and we got to talk about how I am adjusting, how I like my companion, and such. While we were out driving to peoples’ houses, we were listening to music in the car. There was a song that came on and it said the artist of the song was Megan Sackett (a girl that was on the high school basketball team with Kayla). That caught my attention and I turned up the music really loud so that I could listen to it. It really was Megan Sackett singing. It’s a church song, not sure of the title, but I have heard it before. Anyways, it made me super happy and it made me miss home a little bit, but it’s okay.

Anyways, exchanges were good. Sister Ison and I only got to visit two people. I was glad to be reunited with my real companion, but for the time being, I really enjoyed being with Sister Ison. Sister Standage and I had to go home early, because we had a lesson with Taylor that night that we didn’t want to miss. I can’t wait until our next exchange when we get to do it again! 🙂

This week we visited a lady who Sister Standage has visited before with her previous companion. She let us into her house and we started talking to her. I found out that she is agnostic, meaning that she just doesn’t really believe in anything. At least she wasn’t Atheist and made it hard to try and teach her about God, but it was still super hard to teach her anything. It was my first contact with someone like that, and I honestly didn’t know what to think. I tried to listen to her and then listen to the spirit to know what to say, but nothing was coming. I seriously said hardly anything to her. Sister Standage did most of the talking. After we left, I was in so much shock that someone just didn’t believe in anything. I wanted to cry. This mission has been so good for me to learn about different religions and peoples belief on things. We are going to continue going back to her house, because she is open to us teaching her. I know that next time will be a little better and I am going to pray for the spirit more.

This week we went out tracting. We decided to go back to a street that we had already been on before, but hadn’t been able to finish. During this time, we met a guy who wasn’t interested, but referred us to his neighbor across the street. We had already been at that house before, but no one had answered, so we decided to go back.

We knocked on the door and a man answered it. He invited us right in, but was on the phone, so we just sat and waited for him to be done talking. He got off the phone and apologized to us and then noticed our name tags. “You’re the Mormons right?” We were like “Yeah…how did you know?” He told us that his girlfriend’s father was Mormon, but that he didn’t raise the kids in the Mormon church (we are guessing he was probably less active). Anyways, we had a really good conversation with him. His name is Alex, and he said that he would be interested in learning more, and that he and his girlfriend would try out our church. YAY!! New Investigator! We are going to go back to his house and hopefully teach him and his girlfriend.

There you have it. Ending on a positive story folks. This week has really been a good one. There isn’t much more for me to say. Love you all! 🙂

-Sister Palmer

DSCN0234[1]

PS: The Elders gave us treats this week…

DSC07474

PSS: (From Sister Standage) This is my awesome zone!!! Elder Arritt (middle making a weird face with a light blue tie) has been my zone leader for the past five months and I love him to death!! Elder Jolley is the redhead with glasses right behind me and Elder St. Mars is the curly redhead on the right. They are amazing! While we were out on Friday, they came by our apartment and dropped off a pack of Oreos and a note for us. We ate all the Oreos in a day… haha and sister palmer to the right of me in the white is freaking hilarious. Love her too! This is my family here 🙂

**POSTFACE: If any of you, especially those that have served missions, have ideas or recipes for fast and easy meals, please contact either of Kayla’s parents so that they can be included in a recipe book that we are putting together for her.

Leave a Reply

