Leaving the MTC

* PREFACE: This morning (January 8th), Kayla left the Missionary Training Center in Provo to fly out to Cincinnati and begin her full-time service as a missionary (okay, she has been a full-time missionary the last three weeks, but in training…you get what I mean, right?). After she arrived at the airport she was able to call and talk with us. This was especially nice since we didn’t get to talk to her on Christmas day. Kayla is so grateful for the support she has received through prayers, letters and packages. With this change in location, if anyone would like to know how to contact her, just send a message to me.

Kayla is so excited and so nervous at the same time. Over the last few days in the MTC, she has had some experiences that have helped her to be even better prepared to teach the gospel on a daily basis.  As I write this she is in the air flying east and many great experience await her arrival in Cincinnati this afternoon and over the remaining seventeen months of her mission. This post shares her sentiments that she had as of yesterday afternoon, along with some experiences that have strengthened her testimony.

My Dearest Family and Friends!

SURPRISE!!!!!!!! We got an extra P-day here at the MTC! Booyah baby. Greatest day of my life! Let me tell you some of whats been going on……

This week has been kind of an awesome week of spiritual experiences. Miracles have definitely happened this week.

First off, let me tell you about my mouth. It was probably my second week here at the MTC and the left cheek on my face started to swell and was in pain. I took some medicine, but didn’t do much to get it to go away. It finally just went away all by itself. I don’t really know what had happened. I didn’t think it was anything to do with my wisdom teeth, because the sockets were closed up. Anyway, it went away on its own and my mouth was perfectly normal for like a whole week. Well this past weekend, the other side of my face began to swell up. This time I was in even more pain than before. Once again, I didn’t know how it was happening. I started out by trying to get through the pain, but then it was bad enough that I decided to take some medicine. Finally, the medicine really wasn’t doing much for me. It was fast Sunday, so I didn’t want to eat/drink much to be able to take some medicine. I had a very strong feeling that I needed to get a priesthood blessing.

I went up to our district leader, Elder McEachern (Mik-ek-urn) and asked him if he would give me a blessing. We had a few things to do , so we couldn’t do it right away, but he gave me one as soon as we had time. It was a really cool experience for me! To have someone my age, that is a worthy priesthood holder and could give me a blessing was cool! I am so thankful for all the Elders in my district and that they hold the priesthood.

Update on my mouth: So much better! I woke up the next day and the pain was gone! Like completely gone and the swelling had decreased a lot. I still went to the Health Clinic though to make sure I didn’t have an infection in my mouth. The doctor couldn’t find anything wrong with me, so he gave me an ice pack and told me to continue taking ibuprofen to make the swelling go down. He isn’t extremely worried either, because I am headed stateside on my mission and will be near doctors and dentists that can help me out.

Okay, next awesome experience…when we first arrived here at the MTC, the Provo temple was closed. We knew that it would be opening back up before we left, so we asked if there was going to be a possibility that we would be able to go (since there isn’t going to be a temple in our mission, we all wanted to go one last time). It was looking like we weren’t going to be able to go because we weren’t scheduled. We were all so sad, but at the same time, we all continued to pray that we would be able to make it to the temple. Well, on Sunday, we were given new schedules, because apparently the MTC changes the schedules around with the BYU semester. So we get our schedules on Sunday and noticed that we had P-day today!!!! What?!?! We were so excited because we just had p-day on Thursday. We also had scheduled time to go to the temple!! Let me just tell you…Heavenly Father hears and answers prayers!!

We went to the temple this morning and it was so awesome! It was very much needed. I have come to appreciate the temple so much. I am very sad that we don’t have a temple in our mission. Maybe another miracle will happen and we will get to go to the temple out in Ohio (probably not…but we can hope a little). Today was the first time in three weeks that I have seen someone outside of the MTC that I know. Love You Grandma! 😉 Mom, don’t be sad that you didn’t see me. I know you want to, but I get to call home tomorrow, which I can hardly wait for as well…..

The other day, Sister Jackson and I got to leave the MTC for a little bit. This is another one of my miracle stories, just because I got to leave the MTC (it isn’t really that bad here, but it is nice to get out sometimes!) Anyway, Sister Jackson needed to get her driving record from the DMV. We were shuttled around Provo. It was so good to see a lot of similar surroundings. I wished that we could have gone to the Orem DMV just because you know…it would have been nice, but oh well. It was so good to get out though and associate with people in the “outside world”. We talked to a lot of people as they walked passed us. You would think that maybe I would see someone that I knew while we were out, but I didn’t. Dang….

Well you lovely people….thank you all so much for the love and support. I love getting emails and letters. I also greatly appreciate the packages. I leave the MTC tomorrow though, so start sending letters and packages to the mission home. 🙂

I have really enjoyed my stay here at the MTC. I am a little nervous to head out to Ohio tomorrow, but at the same time I am super, super excited!! My testimony of the gospel has continued to grow since I have been here and I can’t wait to share the gospel with the people out there. I am so thankful for all the love and support that I receive from all of you. You are all such great examples in my life! All I have to say right now is….see you later Utah!! I can’t wait to get back, but right now I have work to do. 🙂

Much love, 

Sister Palmer

Leave a Reply

