Fun Adventures…MTC Style

Dear family,

Hello again! It’s p-day. Wahoo!! 🙂 Just sitting in the laundry room once again. By the way, everything went well last week. None of my clothes got ruined. (Thank heavens!)

There is so much that I want to tell you, but I don’t know how to split it up between emails and hand written letters. I guess I will jut start writing whatever.

Yesterday was Wednesday and we got new missionaries! Hallelujah! I was so excited to see new missionaries walking around. I don’t exactly know why, I just was. I had the opportunity of welcoming in the new district that is in our zone. (The other district flew out Tuesday morning.) It was so much fun getting new Elders & Sisters!

**Side note: In case you didn’t know, I am the Assistant Sister Training Leader. I forgot to mention that last week.  Basically all I have to do is take care of the sisters in our zone, make sure they are getting their stuff done, and make sure they feel welcome.**

There are two Sisters in the new district that are going to Detroit, Michigan. The other two Sisters, and the four Elders that are left in the district are heading off to Boise, Idaho. It made me a little excited. I told them about Grandma and Grandpa and that if they are ever in Meridian, maybe they would get lucky enough to be fed by them. 😉

I saw Kylie (Sister Guthrie) last night! I had been looking for her all day. It was so nice to finally see her and see family. I miss all of my family and friends and pray for you guys everyday! My homesickness is gone though. Is it even possible to still miss you guys and not be homesick? I would say so, because that’s how I feel…I don’t know though.

Let me tell you a little bit of my adventures that I have been having here…

First off, the packages and letters that I have received. Thank you to everyone! It’s funny because whenever you guys or someone from the ward send me a package, it is through Sister Forsyth. It’s funny because they call me over the intercom and they tell me to call the front desk. They then tell me I need to go to the clinic. I mean the health clinic/doctors office (whatever you want to call it). The first time that happened, I was really scared. I thought they wanted to see me for mental issues or something. Hahaha! It was funny, but now we just joke around about it when I get called down to the clinic. 🙂

My personality has not changed here at the MTC. I don’t ever plan on changing it. I’m still the crazy Kayla from home. It’s good though, because I make a lot of people laugh and I have made some nice friends because of it. I like to think that my personality allows us to relax a little bit and to have some fun, which is important. If we didn’t have fun here and there, and laugh a little bit, we would all probably go insane!

Let me tell you about some of my new friends. First, there is Sister Davis. I believe I have briefly told you about her, but if not, here it goes…

Sister Davis is one of the Sisters in our district. she is from Ogden and is super awesome! She is not my companion, but we kind wish a little bit that we were. (Although, we love our companions.) Just like me, Sister Davis has never lived away from home before. That kind of helped us bond really well, but I feel like we have a lot in common and can relate to each other better than we can with our companions.

Sister Davis is constantly making me laugh! One day, we decided to hide from our companions, and then jump out to scare them when they walked by. We were hiding behind the couch (one of them that is in the residence hall). Sister Davis looked at me and said, “Let’s play Secret Agents!”…just to be funny. She then rolled out from behind the couch and into the open spaces. (We were on our way to gym, so we were in shorts & a t-shirt, in case you were wondering.) She then motioned for me to follow her, but I said no. So then she proceeded to roll back behind the couch. She had moved a little bit forward though, so when she rolled back, her head ran smack into the corner of the couch. She may have ended up with a bruise, but we were laughing so hard!! To this day, we still laugh about it. There are so many more funny things that have happened with Sister Davis and I. I will try and include more stories in my email, but it would take way too long to write them out on paper.

One of my other friends is Sister Simmons. She is not in my district or zone. She is just a Sister in our residence building. Sister Davis and I always run into her when we go into the bathroom in the morning to get ready. We decided to kind of creep on her a little bit. We started calling her in a creepy voice. Sister Davis and I always joke around that she is so scared of us, and that she tries to run away from us whenever she hears us coming. She doesn’t really though. She just laughs at us. We seriously see her all the time now. Multiple times throughout the day. Whenever we see her, Sister Davis and I call out to her in our creepy voices. She just laughs, and then calls us in her creepy voice.

Anyways, there are so many stories! I will try and tell you as much as I can in my email, as well as answer your questions & send you pictures. (I know you’re dying to see some.)

Just know that things are going so good here.  The MTC is a great place! Have I struggled? Yes I have. There have been a couple of different days where I have felt like I don’t teach very well, and I don’t teach with the Spirit to help the investigators understand, but through scripture study, wonderful class time, and an amazing district (and teachers) I have felt peace to all of those problems. I know that I am not perfect, but it will get better as I progress on my mission.

I love you all!! Be looking forward to my emails! You’ll probably read my emails before you get this letter but still…

Love,
Sister Kayla Palmer
(your favorite missionary) 😉

Leave a Reply

